Contra Costa

With a population of just over 1 million, Contra Costa, Spanish for "opposite coast", is nestled in the northern most portion of the East Bay across from San Francisco. The primarily suburban county includes 19 cities and spans over 800 square miles, surrounded by the Oakland and Berkeley Hills, several inland valleys, and Mount Diablo.

Historically, Contra Costa County was designated as one of the 27 original California counties and initially included all of the land in today's Alameda County. Today, it boasts residential areas, businesses, open spaces, parks, and trails as well as mass transit access to BART and Amtrak.